find pictures find music radio
n u g s . n e t | Comes A Time: A Tribute to Jerry Garcia 9/24/05 Berkeley, CA
n u g s . n e t presents
Comes A Time

photos courtesy Casey Flanigan
Playin’ in the Band:
Bob Weir - guitar, vocals
Billy Kreutzmann - drums
Mickey Hart - percussion
Donna Jean Godchaux-MacKay - backup vocals
Bruce Hornsby - keyboards, vocals
Trey Anastasio - guitar, vocals
Warren Haynes - guitar, vocals
Jimmy Herring - guitar
Michael Kang - mandolin, fiddle (String Cheese Incident)
Jay Lane - drums (Ratdog)
Jeff Chimenti - keyboards (Ratdog)
Mark Karan - guitar (Ratdog)
Robin Sylvester - bass (Ratdog)
Kenny Brooks - saxophone (Ratdog)
Gloria Jones - backup vocals (JGB)
Jackie LaBranch - backup vocals (JGB)

On a gorgeous Saturday afternoon at Grateful Dead Ground Zero, also known as Berkeley’s Greek Theatre, friends came together for a reckoning of the faithful to celebrate the music of Jerry Garcia. After fine but brief sets by David Nelson, a pared down String Cheese Incident, an updated Jerry Garcia Band (with special guest Merl Saunders), and Ratdog, the sun set on the blissful crowd and the main event began.

Old friend Hamza El Din led a procession of drummers onto the hallowed Greek stage as the band trickled on for a Help on The Way opener, with Trey taking lead guitar and vocals. From there, the Jerry Spot was a revolving door of Trey, Kang, Warren, Jimmy, Karan, often with several of them at one time. Phil Zone duties were masterfully assumed by Robin Sylvester, and Jay Lane was in the drum seat until "Scarlet Begonias" when the Rhythm Devils ascended the throne. The shining star of the evening was Mr. Hornsby, bringing tears to everyone’s eyes during "Loser" and especially the final refrains of "Standing on the Moon."

Almost greater than the thrill of the music was the vibe at The Greek. It was "Strangers Stopping Strangers" with smiles and nods to old tour friends, taper buddies, long lost family members, and the knowing-grin that we were all a part of something very special.

Stream this show by clicking the LISTEN buttons below. Click LISTEN to stream an entire set.

Ollin Arageed
Help on the Way
Brown Eyed Women
Dark Star
Eyes Of The World
Standing on the Moon
Scarlet Begonias
Fire on the Mountain
Stella Blue
The Wheel
Uncle John's Band
He's Gone
Franklin's Tower
Brokedown Palace
Dark Star
Touch of Grey